Reviews

Heres what people have said about our charity

Blyth Wildlife Rescue
4.9
powered by Facebook
Rachel Griffin
Rachel Griffin
2020-09-08T12:15:59+0000
Our poorly hedgehog was collected so quickly. Blyth Wildlife rescue were really helpful. Great work. Thank you.
Linzie Morris
Linzie Morris
2020-07-19T12:54:37+0000
I messaged them after picking up a baby hog baking in the sun. They came straight out to collect it. Thanks so much, hope the little one recovers 🦔read more
Georgia Brown
Georgia Brown
2020-07-15T16:59:59+0000
Absolutely amazing work you guys do. So responsive and helpful. Thank you for your help ❤️
Jennie Ridley
Jennie Ridley
2020-07-06T15:23:29+0000
Accessible, Available, Reliable and prompt
Dawn Jolly
Dawn Jolly
2020-06-26T13:00:47+0000
What brilliant service I got as found a live hedgehog 🦔 covered in ticks was recommended blyth wildlife rescue and within minutes they responded to me. Did help they was in same area but happy to help the hedgehog. Also with being a non profit rescue I've donated too help out. Welldoneread more
Leigh Smyth
Leigh Smyth
2020-05-28T06:48:09+0000
This is a fabulous organisation- a few weeks ago we had a bat in our house....I contacted Blyth Wildlife Rescue for advice, and they sent lots of useful info to see if the bat could be released, but it wouldn't fly. They arranged to collect it the next day and have had it for weeks now, providing care and encouragement to get him/her to fly. Last night, they brought the bat back up to our area and it was really lovely to see him or her fly off into the night's sky....Thank you Blyth Wildlife Rescue...you are all wonderful human beings!read more
Janette Fothergill
Janette Fothergill
2020-05-26T18:57:27+0000
just to say thank you to the young lady who came to our house in walkerdene to pick up a baby sparrow you all do a great job xxread more
Amanda Annakin
Amanda Annakin
2020-05-19T20:19:23+0000
MASSIVE thank you to Claire who picked up a baby woodpigeon from my back garden in Bedlington who was abandoned, we had him from Sunday (17 May) until today (19 May) when he went to the rescue centre before going on to be hand reared. Keep up the good work xread more
Janet Beswick
Janet Beswick
2020-05-08T13:30:58+0000
Found a hedgehog whilst out walking the dog. Not moving and looked injured. Just been picked up by a lovely lady from Blyth wildlife rescue who explained he had an abscess. Good luck and great job you are doing.read more
Colette Denise
Colette Denise
2020-05-07T11:42:58+0000
Wonderful Charity and wonderful volunteers.
Rachael Oman
Rachael Oman
2020-05-04T17:28:45+0000
Thanks so much Blyth Wildlife Rescue!!! Just picked up an injured blackbird fledgling from me after my cat attacked it 🙁 donation on its way!!! Much appreciated xxread more
Erin Kealey
Erin Kealey
2020-05-03T21:04:59+0000
Amazing. Within 30 minutes of messaging late at night about a young rabbit my cat caught they came to collect it. Hope the little guy makes a full recovery ❤️read more
DM Perry Clarke
DM Perry Clarke
2020-04-29T14:34:46+0000
Just had a very tiny baby Field Mouse collected from Seahouses... wasn't expecting them driving up here for something so small! Hoping it will survive...Thank you for caring as much as I do!read more
Nicolle Clare Raw
Nicolle Clare Raw
2020-04-29T10:51:54+0000
A lovely lady just came out to collect a injured mouse found in our back garden. Super impressed!
Shirley Gardiner
Shirley Gardiner
2020-04-28T11:28:27+0000
Dedicated to the care of the wildlife - came out to check on a cygnet on Pelaw Quarry Pond that had flown into an overheard wire thank youread more
Phil Dooley
Phil Dooley
2020-04-22T11:46:00+0000
All wildlife should be respected and protected.
Amy Gibson
Amy Gibson
2020-04-21T17:44:31+0000
Thank you for coming to pick up this little rabbit today that we found wandering around the road, couldn’t open it’s eyes! I hope the rabbit will recover! Thanksread more
Pamela Harland
Pamela Harland
2020-04-16T17:06:13+0000
Incredible dedication from these guys today, they came and rescued a bird that had managed to get trapped in the plastic between my double glazing when nobody else could help, they were kind and friendly and the bird was released unharmed after its ordeal. An invaluable service!read more
Anne Lawson
Anne Lawson
2020-04-10T09:04:27+0000
A truly amazing group of people. Please donate something people if you can, every little helps. More needs to be raised as donations are climbing to slowly xxxxxread more
Andrew Reid
Andrew Reid
2020-04-07T18:38:52+0000
Came this afternoon after I called them as I had caught an injured crow. Even in these difficult circumstances it was a great effort hopefully the bird will be ok and back to his friends who were all watching as soon as possible.read more
Sarah Lowes
Sarah Lowes
2020-03-30T13:02:31+0000
I've had two baby rabbits in my kitchen in two days thanks to the cat, both too young to survive alone. BWR quickly directed me over facebook messenger to one of their specialist volunteers, and I was able to drop the rabbits off easily. Thanks!read more
Gillian Heard
Gillian Heard
2020-03-29T12:01:30+0000
They rescued a swan who was covered in oil from the marina. He was cleaned up and returned back a few weeks later. Great job thank you.read more
Penny Hutcheon
Penny Hutcheon
2020-02-10T17:18:17+0000
Today I found a buzzard near my home on its back in the road. I put it into a box and rushed it to my local vets ( Cheviot vets )who contacted Blyth wildlife rescue. They have collected the buzzard and I hope that the gorgeous bird makes a full recovery. Thank youread more
Tim Archer
Tim Archer
2020-01-21T14:21:08+0000
‪Aww ...Blyth Wildlife Rescue will make sure the big old hedgehog i found being chased by magpies is healthy ... And will eventually return him to the garden. Isn’t that brilliant ... ? Gave ‘em £50 for making me happy. ‬read more
Pauline Gilbertson
Pauline Gilbertson
2019-12-28T16:31:29+0000
I called BWR this morning about an exhausted Razorbill found on Boulmer beach. Within 5 minutes my call was returned and 15 minutes after that, the bird was collected and taken back to base for some TLC. Very impressive indeed (though I know you can’t always respond so promptly as I’m sure you’re often run off your feet!)read more
Andrew A Barton
Andrew A Barton
2019-12-27T05:33:57+0000
awesomerescued 100s of hedgehogs this winterred squirrel conservatioaliststop markskeep it up in 2020TEAM Geordieredsquirrels.con#thanksforyourhdlp#nersread more
Karen Robins
Karen Robins
2019-12-04T22:15:28+0000
fantastic people dedication is 100% please help
Hayley Dickinson
Hayley Dickinson
2019-11-11T17:44:56+0000
helped with a swan that had falling off a roof today the only people that would help me was yous lot dont think yous get enough credit for what yous do thank you so muchread more
Diane Culkin
Diane Culkin
2019-11-11T17:18:55+0000
Thank you so much for helping with the exhausted Guillemot we found on Alnmouth beach today. Such good support provided by this charity.read more
Michelle Wood
Michelle Wood
2019-10-31T10:39:22+0000
my cat caught a small bat the rescue has collected it this morning. what a fantastic group of people thank you so much xxread more
David Howlett
David Howlett
2019-10-22T22:22:41+0000
Friendly and prompt assistance was received in the matter of a somewhat underweight autumn-juvenile hedgehog which my girlfriend and myself rescued outside our flat last night - two volunteers were able to pop by tonight and collect the hedgehog so that it could get the level of care it needed 😀 as a token of my gratitude I've ordered something from your Amazon Wishlist as a donation for the ongoing cause.read more
Pamela Harrison
Pamela Harrison
2019-10-05T22:38:15+0000
My neighbour and I found a 4 to 5 week old hedgehog and my aunty put me in touch with the centre and although I'm in Durham she met me half way so she could take little Harry to get big and strong over the winter ready to return him to me in the Spring for his release! Where would we be without these kind souls, well-done to you all and THANKS xxread more
Mike Clarke
Mike Clarke
2019-09-28T19:38:04+0000
A volunteer retrieved a young Gull from me. It was a huge relief to have someone so calm to deal with it. Thanks so much!read more
Kai Angelos
Kai Angelos
2019-09-02T08:45:30+0000
Nice charity who do go out their way.I’ve been to blyth jollies pet shop to donate in their donation bin and I don’t know which is their bin as there are 3 plus one decorated with shak dog logos on it. I didn’t leave anything as I don’t know who’s who. Sorryread more
Moyra Evitt
Moyra Evitt
2019-08-10T15:51:30+0000
Brilliant volunteers who do everything they can to save and rehabilitate animals ♥
Marcia Hindmarch
Marcia Hindmarch
2019-08-04T18:56:14+0000
Phoned for help with a baby hedgehog on a Sunday afternoon and they helped. RSPCA couldn't till the Monday. Thank you. x
Heather Doherty
Heather Doherty
2019-07-21T21:09:21+0000
I found a poorly hedgehog and these wonderful people met us immediately even though it was late. Fantastic caring service, just brilliant. Xread more
John Jennison
John Jennison
2019-07-11T22:15:47+0000
A lovely volunteer came and collected a young hedgehog we had found and been caring for, glad he’s gone to a place he’ll be properly cared for and look forward to having him return to us to be released into our garden! I have donated, you do brilliant work!Kind regardsWilliam Jennisonread more
Anne Lowery
Anne Lowery
2019-06-18T16:09:25+0000
Asked for help for a hedgehog who turned out to have a broken leg. Advised me what to do and they are going to pick him up from the vets. Amazing dedicated people xread more
Kara Kendall Morgan
Kara Kendall Morgan
2019-06-12T09:21:37+0000
These guys are amazing!! found a baby bird on a cycle track in Cramlington...poor baby had been attacked..i wrapped him up and dropped him off to a lovely guy who took the baby from me. Thank god we have lovely caring people in our community who do their upmost to help our wildlife. prayers for the baby bird ❤❤❤❤ xxxread more
Hannah Parrington
Hannah Parrington
2019-06-10T21:20:41+0000
What an amazing service run purely by a team of volunteers 💚we found an injured fledging bird outside our house this evening. Within an hour of calling the service, the bird was in an incubator and recovering-fantastic!!read more
Kay Shaw
Kay Shaw
2019-06-01T15:12:54+0000
We found a very weak hedgehog in a car park! They came to collect the poor little thing very quickly and Clare gave us some very helpful info! Hope he survives! Thanksread more
Alexandra Davidson
Alexandra Davidson
2019-05-28T18:12:51+0000
I found 4 live blue tit chicks fallen out of the nest. Called BWR who came and collected them about an hour later. Very helpful and gave me confidence that they’d do all they could for themread more
Claire Stone
Claire Stone
2019-05-26T09:22:19+0000
Amazing people who I have used before when a bird was stuck behind the fireplace. Highly recommended and reliable
Lorna Winn
Lorna Winn
2019-05-23T21:23:25+0000
The guys came out even though it was late evening to pick up our poorly hedgehog. While they were there another one turned up with a gammy leg. It's as if it knew! Thanks guys you are brilliant!read more
Николь Вэйгтман
Николь Вэйгтман
2019-05-21T08:30:14+0000
I messaged them yesterday regarding a baby blackbird and they were more than happy to collect him and give him the care that not even vets were willing to give.read more
Stevie Matthews
Stevie Matthews
2019-05-05T16:55:00+0000
i contacted Blyrh Wildlife Rescue this morning (5th May 2019) to report an injured fox, having spoken to an extremely kind lady living almost on the site where the poor animal had been struck by a motor vehicle, and who had taken the animal to her home. Within the hour, BWR had collected the fox and have it in their intensive care unit. Many an organisation would probably have written-off the animal or at best, ended its'life humanely. Not so, BWR! They are doing the utmost, and I cannot thank them enough. Our prayers are with the fox and BWR. Stevie Matthewsread more
Annette Day
Annette Day
2019-03-28T23:49:51+0000
I was advised to return an orphaned dove to the place it was found even though there was no sign of the nest or parent and cats were congregating. Thankfully I sought advice from experts and the baby who has a vitamin D deficiency is now being properly cared for in Whitby. I could not have submitted the dove to certain death.read more
Dorothy Shaw
Dorothy Shaw
2019-03-05T09:49:48+0000
Caring compassionate organisation
Dawn Young
Dawn Young
2019-02-10T10:06:45+0000
Extremely knowledgeable, friendly team. responded quickly when I reported a rescued hedgehog in need of help.
Jill Amery
Jill Amery
2019-02-06T06:15:09+0000
They care. The charity is stretched to it's limits running on a small group of volunteers and still manage to save so many lives and give good advice, working all hours. Thank you for your service BWR. The Swan they collected when I calledread more
Liz Lundy
Liz Lundy
2018-12-30T15:17:33+0000
Thank you for answering my call today about a gull I found lying injured in the road & allowing me to take it to Westways Vets in Newcastle for collection. I will be making a donation & thanks for everything you do for wildlife.read more
Kay Handyside Cochrane
Kay Handyside Cochrane
2018-11-05T19:20:44+0000
A brilliant charity. Collected hedgehog I found at 7pm on bonfire night. Thank you. Have donated a small amount to cover petrol costs.read more
Jill Sears
Jill Sears
2018-11-03T21:30:28+0000
Always there to save and protect wildlife
Natalie Yeowart
Natalie Yeowart
2018-10-17T19:30:03+0000
We found a baby hedgehog, after advice we attempted to look after him for the winter but the poor thing wasn’t well and Blyth Wildlife came straight out to help him. Amazing charity! Thank you so much. Xxread more
Jade Hope
Jade Hope
2018-10-15T19:12:58+0000
Found the cutest baby hedgehog today. I contacted BWR tonight after looking after him for a few hours which included loads of cat treats (see below pic) Within 15 minutes someone was here collecting him to take the the rescue!! Dedication. Amazing charity!read more
Michelle Ridley
Michelle Ridley
2018-10-14T13:12:32+0000
BWR have taken 2 birds over the last month that I have taken to the vets on west gate road. One woodpecker and one baby wood pigeon. I don’t know what we would do without this brilliant rescue. Thank you so much.read more
Jane Hardy
Jane Hardy
2018-10-12T21:19:10+0000
Fabulous people who are dedicated to helping wildlife 24/7
Philip Day
Philip Day
2018-10-10T20:33:37+0000
These guys have been out to us twice now, once to rescue a nest of young blackbirds after the mother was got by a cat, and again tonight to rescue a young wood pigeon with a broken leg. Would recommend, and support as much as you can. Thanks so much!read more
Amber Henderson
Amber Henderson
2018-08-29T18:53:39+0000
Came out late one night last week to collect an injured young wood pigeon we found in the garden which had possibly flown into a window or similar. Great service ran by volunteers xread more
Sue Peel
Sue Peel
2018-08-06T21:11:26+0000
These guys are doing an amazing job!
Dawn Branley-Bell
Dawn Branley-Bell
2018-07-20T10:32:29+0000
Amazing rescue, who go above and beyond to help every animal handed to them. Wouldn't trust anyone else like I trust Blyth Wildlife and so grateful for the service they provide. They have helped me and my family with many rescued/injured animals over the years. People don't always appreciate how hard they must work to look after all of these animals. Thanks to all involved.read more
Lynn Glanville
Lynn Glanville
2018-07-18T20:37:38+0000
Thank you so much for helping with the baby rabbits. I hope they are doing ok.
Charlotte Jayne
Charlotte Jayne
2018-07-15T23:05:47+0000
Amazing, came within 20min to pick up a lone baby hedgehog out in the day 🙂 I'm sure she's/he's under excellent care nowread more
Sarah Carty
Sarah Carty
2018-07-04T20:54:59+0000
These people are fabulous, after finding two little hedgehogs at the bottom of garden, we rang for advice, we took advice of setting up of little home for the night to see if mam would come back, but unfortunately she hasn't so these lovely people have taken our little boy and girl in to be cared for and fed up before coming back here to be let back out into the wild. Was nice of the lady to come and meet us to collect them and even told us a little about them which was nice can't wait to see them again x thanks again to all involved xread more
Graham Charlton
Graham Charlton
2018-06-24T21:26:52+0000
Fantastic people doing a fantastic job
Holly Storey
Holly Storey
2018-06-24T16:05:05+0000
Absolutely amazing response today in regards to two trapped birds in a storm drain. Blyth wildlife rescue were there within the hour on Sunday lunch time. Couldn't recommend them more. Thankyou so much for your hard work today.read more
Abbie Atkinson
Abbie Atkinson
2018-06-16T17:43:10+0000
Thankyou so much for your quick response and pick up from the lovely volunteer lady for the little blackbird fledgling I was looking after. I think you all do a fabulous job and I will be donating to this brilliant charity. Keep up the good work!read more
Heather Hodgson
Heather Hodgson
2018-06-15T17:16:01+0000
I found a injured hedgehog out in daylight in my garden...I rang Blyth Wildlife Rescue and were very helpful...they came out and took it into the rescue,it is very poorly but will be released back here when it is fully recovered...what a fantastic job they do..I don't know what I would have done with out them xread more
Ashley J Sachsenwalzer
Ashley J Sachsenwalzer
2018-06-02T18:56:22+0000
Fantastic group of volunteers doing an amazing job. Keep up the good work guys
Willie White
Willie White
2018-05-30T09:25:40+0000
Even though we contacted the charity at a very busy time we found that they were extremely efficient, caring and responsive. John turned up at our door to collect the sick animal whereas other organisations and vets etc were reluctant to take him in or prepared to even meet us halfway. Every animal's life matters, they are not expendable and you get the feeling that this organisation truly has this thought as one of their core values. Thank you John.read more
Nicole Davison
Nicole Davison
2018-05-29T22:59:07+0000
Brilliant quick response to a call about a seagull chick tonight hopefully with a happy ending
Georgia Brown
Georgia Brown
2018-05-26T07:44:10+0000
Absolutely disgusting service. I contacted the charity in good faith after reading reviews raving about their concern for wildlife and their kind nature. However, I was appauled at the way "John" addressed me over the phone, I called the the charity in distress after witnessing and stopping a young wood pigeon from being brutally attacked in the family garden. The voice on the end of the phone shouted at me for ringing multiple times in a row and not leaving a voicemail. Myself, a 20 year old girl, and the young pigeon were in distress and I considered it to be an emergency, I was in need of emergency advice. Instead of asking the circumstances the man was abrupt and rude not acknowledging the stress I was feeling. I understand there may be other emergencies to attend however each should be dealt with in the same respectful and kind manner. I commend the charity and it's work but feel that they should have more empathy to those who are also trying to help a creature facing an emergency, life or death situation. I am still in shock at the poor pigeons ordeal myself and to be spoken to in such a way has left me disheartened and very upset.The call was made at 8:17 am, Saturday the 26th of May 2018.read more
Maria Oliver
Maria Oliver
2018-05-14T22:40:54+0000
simply outstanding response to a late night message for advice, turned up to pick the wood pigeon up after giving me advice on how to catch it. very special people who run this establishment. Well done!!read more
Rachael Elders
Rachael Elders
2018-05-11T21:51:46+0000
Picked up a young blackbird that two cats had been "playing with". Came quickly on a Friday night. So grateful and hopefully the bird will make it. Nothing but respect for the volunteers.read more
Fiona Chadwick
Fiona Chadwick
2018-03-30T22:10:49+0000
So impressed that this rescue service exists, this is the 2nd time we have called them out for injured wildlife. They work long hours voluntarily! total respect to them all, caring and compassionate people xread more
Heather Roberts
Heather Roberts
2018-03-21T20:56:41+0000
Pandora Phillips
Pandora Phillips
2018-03-20T15:39:17+0000
Just rescued a stranded sea bird from Alnmouth beach and Becky at Blyth Wildlife Rescue organised transport to the vets within a couple of hours. Amazing service - what a great job you all do. Thank you.read more
Stephanie Dalton
Stephanie Dalton
2018-03-01T19:41:19+0000
Thank you so much for your help today with the bird and coming so quickly wish i could have done more for the poor little thingread more
Kathy Richards
Kathy Richards
2018-02-17T15:57:01+0000
Thank you so very much for coming so promptly to pick the young injured crow I found, and for coming such a long way, I hope it’s a good outcome, many thanks xread more
Laura Davidson
Laura Davidson
2018-01-25T18:42:09+0000
Angela Zuccaroli
Angela Zuccaroli
2017-11-24T12:47:10+0000
These guy selflessly gave their time and help to save a badly oiled seabird that we found on Seaham coast... he would not have survived without them! Thank you guys! Your amazing!! �read more
Tracy Tracy
Tracy Tracy
2017-11-08T13:35:12+0000
Fantastic people who care and save our wildlife xxxx
Pauline Thompson
Pauline Thompson
2017-06-15T15:11:07+0000
Fiona Bailey
Fiona Bailey
2017-05-28T09:34:38+0000
Just found this link please share �� these guys do a great job!!!
Susan Trotter
Susan Trotter
2017-05-27T05:16:27+0000
A massive thank you for coming to collect the wee jackdaw last night, who'd fallen down our house cavity. I know you were very busy & it really does show how dedicated you are to helping wildlife that you still found time to call around to collect the little one. If anyone can give him a chance of a life it's you guys. Hopefully the rest of his family will remain safely in the nest up in the roof (tho we're not going to replace the airbrick just yet....just in case!!). Thanks again for your help �read more
Lisa Trotter
Lisa Trotter
2017-05-26T23:14:35+0000
Came out again, this time, saving a Deer, who feet were stuck in a discarded wheel trim, they do so much, so much behind the scenes. Money keeps them going.read more
Emily Dagg
Emily Dagg
2017-05-03T19:03:13+0000
We got a really quick response from Blyth Wildlife Rescue when we found a very young stoat abandoned. They took him in asap and are giving him the best chance he can get!read more
David Mciver
David Mciver
2017-05-02T19:08:08+0000
Donna Hawkins
Donna Hawkins
2017-04-20T16:08:55+0000
Gail Williams
Gail Williams
2017-04-04T12:10:21+0000
Yes a wonderful memory...when a tawny owl fell down our chimney and perched on the ledge inside. Eventually tumbled into our bedroom during the early hours of the morning. You collected him/her...fed her up for sometime then came back to release her back into the wild fully restore to strength. Thank you . Great experience for usread more
Maritza Dillmo
Maritza Dillmo
2017-03-30T18:09:55+0000
Joy Gradwell
Joy Gradwell
2015-01-04T16:02:44+0000
Joy Gradwell
Joy Gradwell
2015-01-04T16:02:43+0000
Joy Gradwell
Joy Gradwell
2015-01-04T16:02:43+0000
Lucie Wilson
Lucie Wilson
2014-12-31T04:18:08+0000
Stacey Crown
Stacey Crown
2014-07-09T15:49:26+0000
Lesley Forrester
Lesley Forrester
2014-05-18T20:53:37+0000
Obviously really dedicated. Thanks for giving my little hog the chance she deserves.
GemBee Parkinson
GemBee Parkinson
2014-05-12T19:56:41+0000
Amazing work, keep going with all you do!
Malvina Anna
Malvina Anna
2014-04-30T13:31:11+0000
Kate Stuart
Kate Stuart
2014-04-27T22:49:38+0000
Fantastic support and first class care for all animals without exception. Just brilliant.
Raffaella Dinicoli
Raffaella Dinicoli
2014-04-14T19:16:50+0000
bellissimo grazie claire
Caleb William Oswell
Caleb William Oswell
2014-01-29T01:46:15+0000
Samantha Levy
Samantha Levy
2014-01-06T13:06:19+0000
Evelyn Wilkinson
Evelyn Wilkinson
2013-12-03T09:18:38+0000
Sue Prior
Sue Prior
2013-12-02T14:35:52+0000
Ben Graves
Ben Graves
2013-12-01T12:08:41+0000
John Anderson
John Anderson
2013-11-29T21:11:28+0000
Sue Bowman
Sue Bowman
2013-11-29T07:45:38+0000
John Anderson
John Anderson
2013-11-28T16:58:14+0000
Taryn Cummings
Taryn Cummings
2013-11-27T19:43:22+0000
Next Reviews